fbpx

Texas Do’s and Don’ts

TexasRecreational hunting and fishing licenses and stamp endorsements are available at approximately 1,700 locations throughout Texas. These locations include sporting goods stores, gun shops, department stores, discount stores, bait and tackle shops, grocery stores, and many other types of stores. Some commercial fishing licenses are available ONLY at the Austin Headquarters and Law Enforcement Offices. For added convenience, most recreational licenses may be purchased by phone or through the Internet. A $5 administrative fee will be charged for those sales. Many licenses may be purchased for immediate use except where tagging is required, i.e., deer and turkey. When you purchase a fishing license, you’re helping to protect, preserve and enhance the sport of fishing for today and for generations to come. License fees help pay for fishery and hatchery management, habitat development and protection, endangered species programs, fishing and conservation education, lake maps and other publications, and many other valuable programs For residents who hunt and fish fresh water and/or salt water, there are combination packages available. It includes a Resident Hunting License, a Resident Fishing License and all 5 state stamp endorsements – archery, freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing with a red drum tag, upland game bird, and migratory game bird.

Fishing licenses are not required for children under 17 years of age, Texas residents born before January 1, 1931, anyone fishing within a Texas State Park, mentally disabled persons who are engaged in recreational fishing under supervision as part of medically approved therapy, or mentally disabled persons fishing under the direct supervision of a licensed angler who is a family member or has permission from the family to take the mentally disabled person fishing. No one needs a license or stamp endorsement on Free Fishing Day, held each year on the first Saturday in June. State park visitors can fish without a license as long as they are on park property, but other regulations including size and daily bag limits remain in effect. A fishing license is not required to fish in privately owned lakes or ponds. For persons fishing in public water from private property, a fishing license is required. It is unlawful to fish on privately owned water, or enter private land to fish in public water, without the express permission of the owner or the owner’s agent. It is a violation to take, kill, or disturb sea turtles or sea turtle eggs or take, kill, or disturb any endangered or threatened species, or to take or kill diamondback terrapin, sawfish of any species, porpoises, dolphins, or whales. It is also unlawful to place any game fish into public waters, other than the body of water where the fish was caught,

Licenses and regulations are designed for the protection of the Texas environment. Adhering to the regulations and maintaining the proper licenses is good for the state and also good for those who love to hunt and fish.

Source: “Fishing or Hunting with a Boat.” Fishing or Hunting with a Boat. Web. 29 July 2013.

Follow Us: FacebookFoursquareTwitterYouTubeLinkedIn

Contact Us