BOATER EDUCATION COURSE SET
Houston, TX…. A course in boater education has been scheduled for Saturday, January 12, 2013 beginning at 1:00 p.m. at the 2013 Houston International Boat, Sport & Travel Show, according to Kevin Cunningham with Texas Parks & Wildlife.
According to Texas Parks and Wildlife Department,
If you were born on or after September 1, 1993, you are required to take a boater education safety course in order to legally operate any vessel over 15 horsepower, wind-blown vessels over 14 feet, and any personal watercraft unless accompanied* by another legally authorized operator*.
*Accompanied means: By a person who is at least 18, is legally authorized to operate a boat, and is on board anytime the vessel is underway.
*Legally authorized operator means: A person born prior to September 1, 1993 or those born after that have passed a state approved boater education course. Proof of certification is required to be on your person while underway if born on or after September 1, 1993.
However, any individual may take the course on a voluntary basis and is encouraged to attend regardless of state requirements, according to Kevin.
“The course is open to adults and youngsters and will include instruction in boat operation, water safety, maintenance, navigation rules, docking, anchoring, trailering, laws and regulations; outdoor responsibility and ethics, handling emergency situations, and choosing the right boat” Kevin added.
The minimum age for certification is 13 years and the class is free with paid admission into the Houston Boat, Sport & Travel Show. Students 13 years of age or older successfully completing the course will be issued a “Temporary Certificate Card” at the end of the course. Students will then receive an original “Boater Education Certificate” from Texas Parks and Wildlife after processing the paperwork. Those less than 13 years of age may receive a “Certificate of Attendance,” but must take the course again after turning 13 for legal certification. Since 1977, thousands of Texans have completed the boater education course, which is mandatory in many states and Canadian provinces.
For more information, contact Lynette Eichenour at 713-526-6361 or 832-667-2628 or Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at 1-800-792-1112, (512) 389-8141 or through our website at www.tpwd.state.tx.us/learning/boater_education/.